Home ComicsIndies The Devil’s Cut: First Look at Art and Covers

The Devil’s Cut: First Look at Art and Covers

by Neil Bui

Creator-owned comics publisher DSTLLRY shared an early look at the variant covers and interior art from The Devil’s Cut, with the print and digital release set for August 30, 2023.

In addition to the standard cover by Jock, there are five wraparound variant covers by Francesco Francavilla, Becky Cloonan (1:10), Tula Lotay (1:25), Joëlle Jones (1:50), and Mirka Andolfo (1:75).

“From its super-fresh covers to its meticulously-crafted interior stories, The Devil’s Cut is what comics can be when you bring together incredibly talented creators and let them have fun doing what they do best,” said Founding Editor Will Dennis. “We asked them for a statement book and they delivered beyond our wildest dreams!”

The unlettered interior pages are from these 12 artists who contributed to the 11 short stories:

  • Elsa Charretier
  • Joëlle Jones
  • Mirka Andolfo
  • Jock
  • Jamie McKelvie
  • Lee Garbett
  • Becky Cloonan
  • Tula Lotay
  • Christian Ward
  • Ariela Kristantina
  • Eduardo Risso
  • Francesco Francavilla

Many of these artists also handled writing duties, while the remaining stories are written by Scott Snyder, James Tynion IV, Ram V, Brian Azzarello, Stephanie Phillips, Marc Bernardin, and PK Colinet.

“When we conceived of DSTLRY, we wanted to change the relationship between publisher and creator in a way that encouraged creators to bring their best. We’ve been incredibly excited about our all-star roster of creators, but we’ve somehow managed to be further blown away by the detail, creativity, and artistry in their work on this book,” said DSTLRY co-founders David Steinberger and Chip Mosher in a joint statement. “From the preview art fans can see today to the stunning finished product that will hit shelves in August, we couldn’t be more proud to introduce the world to DSTLRY via The Devil’s Cut.”

The 11 short stories that make The Devil’s Cut include:

  • “Spectregraph” by James Tynion IV, Christian Ward, and Aditya Bidikar
  • “Shepherd” by Marc Bernardin, Ariela Kristantina, Lee Loughridge, and Bernardo Brice
  • “8 Rules to Make It Out in One Piece” by Elsa Charretier, PK Colinet, Nick Filardi, and Clayton Cowles
  • “What’s Mine is Hearse” by Stephanie Phillips, Joëlle Jones, and Lucas Gattoni
  • “A Blessed Day” by Mirka Andolfo, Fabio Amelia, Arancia Studio, and Steve Orlando
  • “The Stowaway” by Jock
  • “Deleted Scene, #2” by Brian Azzarello, Eduardo Risso, and Jared K. Fletcher
  • “White Boat” by Scott Snyder, Francesco Francavilla, Andworld Design, and Tyler Jennes
  • “What Happens Next…” by Jamie McKelvie and Aditya Bidikar
  • “Waiting to Die” by Ram V, Lee Garbett, Lee Loughridge, and Aditya Bidikar
  • “What Blighted Flame Burns in Thee?” by Becky Cloonan, Tula Lotay, and Richard Starkings

Thanks for reading this article!

If you’d like to share your thoughts in reaction to what you just read, then feel free to leave a comment below or click here to submit your own opinion piece. The Dorkaholics Team is always on the look for new, additional voices to join us, share their own unique perspectives, and contribute to the diverse platform we are building in our corner of the internet and pop culture community.

Join the discussion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.